Knowledge Base

How does the option "Enable Preemption" work when it is enabled on the backup device?

Question

What does the option "Enable Preemption" mean when it is enabled on the backup device?

Answer

Preemption is available on the backup device only, especially for the scenario with more than one backup device.
 
Example:
There is one master device with priority 255 by default.
Two backup devices:
A: priority 2. The option "Enable Preemption" is checked.
B: priority 1
 
When the master device becomes unavailable, A becomes active because it has higher priority.
If A also failed, B takes over the active role.
When A becomes available again, A takes over the active role because preemption is enabled.
If preemption is not enabled on A, A will not take over the active role even if it becomes available.
B is still the active role. 



YES NO

Please leave your comment:

SUBMIT

Question Profile

LANGUAGE:
ARTICLE ID:016227
TYPE:Spec. Info
FIRMWARE:4.25 and above
VIEWS:386
VOTES:0
TECHNOLOGY:
MODEL:USG110,USG1100,USG1900 (view more model name)

Still have trouble with your device? Contact Zyxel technology support team directly!

Contact Zyxel Support